Against All Odds Ding Liren Beats Magnus Carlsen

Ding Liren wins the 2019 Sinquefield Cup as the first player since 2007 to beat Magnus Carlsen in a playoff. The Chinese GM earned $82,500 and 16.5 Grand Chess Tour points as he won the two blitz games. Carlsen hadn’t lost a single playoff since his Candidates’ match with Levon Aronian in 2007. Since then he played 10 tiebreaks, and won all 10. Carlsen took the loss graciously:
”I got to say that he was a lot better than I was today so he won absolutely deservedly.” In the end of the video as usual you can solve the daily puzzle!
Magnus Carlsen (2882) vs Liren Ding (2805)
Grand Chess Tour Sinquefield Cup 2019 round 15-tb4
C78 Ruy Lopez: Closed Variations, Martinez Variation
1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 Nc6 3. Bb5 a6 4. Ba4 Nf6 5. O-O Be7 6. d3 b5 7. Bb3 d6 8. c3 Na5 9. Bc2 c5 10. d4 cxd4 11. cxd4 O-O 12. h3 Re8 13. d5 Bd7 14. Nc3 Qb8 15. Bd3 Rc8 16. Ne2 Nb7 17. g4 Nc5 18. Ng3 Nxd3 19. Qxd3 b4 20. Re1 Qb5 21. Qd1 Rc7 22. Be3 Rac8 23. Nd2 g6 24. b3 Qb7 25. Nc4 Bb5 26. Na5 Qb8 27. Qd2 Rc3 28. a3 bxa3 29. Nc6 Bxc6 30. Qxc3 Bxd5 31. Qa5 Bxe4 32. g5 Ba8 33. Qxa6 Nd5 34. Ba7 Qc7 35. Rec1 Qxc1+ 36. Rxc1 Rxc1+ 37. Kh2 Bc6 38. Qxa3 Bxg5 39. Qxd6 Bf4 40. Bc5 Ne7
Video Thumbnail Credits:,_Candidates_Tournament_2018.jpg


Don’t miss these tips!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *