Magnus Carlsen Vs Dragan Solak ! World Chess Olympiad 2014 Round 9 ! Endgame

Magnus Carlsen Vs Dragan Solak ! World Chess Olympiad 2014 Round 9 ! Endgame
Source : – Youtube

The 41st Chess Olympiad, organised by the Fédération Internationale des Échecs (FIDE) and comprising an open[1] and women’s tournament, as well as several events designed to promote the game of chess, took place in Tromsø, Norway from 1–14 August 2014.[2] The organiser was Chess Olympiad Tromsø 2014 AS on behalf of FIDE.

A total number of 1,570 players participated at the Olympiad, with 881 in the men and 689 in the women’s section.[3][4] The number of participating teams was 177 from 172 countries in the open section and 136 from 131 countries in the women’s section. The main competitive events were held at Mackhallen. The Chief Arbiter of the event was Greece’s International Arbiter Panagiotis Nikolopoulos.[5] The reigning World Champion, Norwegian Grandmaster Magnus Carlsen, was one of the eight official ambassadors. He also played as a member of one of the Norwegian teams.[6][7]

China won the open section of the tournament for the first time, while Russia claimed victory in the women’s section for the third consecutive time as well as third time overall. Chinese Yu Yangyi, playing on board three, and Georgian Nana Dzagnidze, playing on board one, were the most successful players in the open and women’s sections, respectively.[8] The event was also the last competitive tournament for Judit Polgár, the strongest female chess player in history,[9] who announced her retirement from competitive chess in the rest day of the Olympiad.[10][11][12] Playing as a reserve player for Hungary in the open section, she won a silver medal with her team and recorded four wins, one loss and one draw for a total score 4½/6.
The open section of the tournament was contested by a record number of 177 teams representing 172 nations. Norway, as host nation, fielded three teams, whilst the International Braille Chess Association (IBCA), the International Physically Disabled Chess Association (IPCA), and the International Chess Committee of the Deaf (ICCD) each provided one team.

Players who participated at the Olympiad included the reigning World Champion and highest rated player in the world Magnus Carlsen, nine of the top ten players from the FIDE rating list published in July 2014, and four former World Champions. The former World Champion Vishwanathan Anand, who was the challenger in the World Chess Championship 2014, was the only player from the top ten who missed the Olympiad. The highest rated female chess player, Judit Polgár, represented Hungary in the open section. However, not all of the teams submitted their strongest line-ups for the Olympiad. China, who were expected to be one of the strongest teams in the tournament, were represented by only two players rated above 2700. Russia were the strongest team in the open section with an average rating of 2777 points, followed by Ukraine with 2722 and France, led by Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, with 2718. Other teams with average ratings higher than 2700 rating points were Armenia, with the World no. 2 Levon Aronian, playing on the top board, the United States of America, and Hungary.

China won their first gold in the open event and remained the only unbeaten team in the tournament. They scored eight wins and three draws for a total of 19 points, finishing two points clear of the opposition. Second place was shared by four teams on 17 points: Hungary, India, Russia and Azerbaijan. Hungary won the tie-breaker for second place to claim the silver medal, and India ranked third to win the bronze medal. Russia, who were once again clear favourites before the tournament, finished in fourth place. Armenia, the defending champions from the previous Chess Olympiad, scored 16 points to finish in eighth place.[28]

Open event
# Country Players Average
rating MP dSB
1 China Wang Yue, Ding Liren, Yu Yangyi, Ni Hua, Wei Yi 2699 19
2 Hungary Lékó, Balogh, Almási, Rapport, Polgár 2703 17 372.0
3 India Negi, Sethuraman, Sasikiran, Adhiban, Lalith Babu 2631 17 371.5
4 Russia Kramnik, Grischuk, Svidler, Karjakin, Nepomniachtchi 2773 17 352.0
5 Azerbaijan Mamedyarov, Radjabov, Mamedov, Safarli, Guseinov 2694 17 345.0
6 Ukraine Ivanchuk, Ponomariov, Eljanov, Korobov, Moiseenko 2723 16 377.5
7 Cuba Dominguez, Bruzón, Quezada, Ortiz, Gonzalez 2629 16 361.0
8 Armenia Aronian, Sargissian, Movsesian, Akopian, Kotanjian 2705 16 350.5
9 Israel Gelfand, Rodshtein, Smirin, Sutovsky, Postny 2683 16 348.0
10 Spain Vallejo, Guijarro, Salgado, Illescas, Vázquez 2640 16 334.5
All board prizes were given out according to performance ratings. Yu Yangyi on the third board had the best performance of all players in the tournament:

Board 1: Bulgaria Veselin Topalov 2872
Board 2: Vietnam Nguy?n Ng?c Tru?ng Son 2843
Board 3: China Yu Yangyi 2912
Board 4: Serbia Nikola Sedlak 2773
Reserve: United States Sam Shankland 2831

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *